My Transition (Part 2: Conclusion)

Picking up from where I left off in the previous post, I saw this imminent collision with reality coming in slow motion. I saw it coming for a long time. One of the best and most culturally applicable examples I found was how Corey Taylor pontificated on this topic. Corey Taylor is the front man for the heavy metal bands Slipknot and Stone Sour, hails from Des Moines, is now a renowned author, and a father. There’s a Youtube series (which I will link below) of Taylor speaking to a panel of students at Oxford University in England, broaching the topic of fulfilling your destiny. He explains how he had a lot of passions growing up – he calls himself a history buff… but because he had an intense dislike for school, he would have been no good as a history teacher. Because he was a naturally talented musician, had a natural ear, and a good voice, he decided to pursue a career in music. His point was that if we can start focusing on those things that we’re good at, we will be in a much better place to succeed and will ultimately be happier…

Moments like the one I had with my parents, on top of many other external factors such as my community of friends made me think about my motivations for being in exercise science. Like I said previously, I’m an exercise enthusiast. I bike, occasionally rock climb, and do CrossFit (the latter is a more recently discovered avenue), to keep myself healthy, build community, and maintain sanity. I like that this cross section of my life does not coalesce with my career. I knew then and know now, that I would most likely resent all of those things if I made it something that I had to set my alarm and collect a paycheck for everyday. I tried to sweep these feelings under the rug, blaming it on jitters and separation anxiety – thinking that I still wanted to whole heartedly follow this track. When the log jam cleared a few weeks ago and I got myself into the right head space, I realized that I tried forming my identity around this one slice of the pie. By doing so, I had to get wrapped up in it, obsessed with it, and in the end so overly saturated that when I went to the gym I ultimately found no gratification in it. Nothing about it was enjoyable anymore.

Being in a new major like this has given me a wide open highway of possibilities. Rather than occupationally pigeon holing myself, I decided that it was time to reevaluate my talents. It all fell into place for some reason or another and I don’t know where it will take me, but the skies have honestly never been so clear. Some people find that terrifying – partially relinquishing that kind of unilateral control and letting life ultimately take you to wherever. I’m finding that embracing the unknown and uncertainty of life makes me feel surprisingly less anxious. It’s actually encouraging. Ultimately, you can’t out run destiny and neither can I, but to wrap this two part post with a bow and a tag hanging off it, I will say this, quoting Coach Ted Orion from the third Mighty Ducks movie (which was honestly atrocious)…

You cannot be afraid to lose. That’s you find the confidence to attack the game the game when the puck isn’t yours. That’s how you attack life, even when you don’t think you have any control… And that’s how you play real defense.

Take risks, meet new friends, make someone smile, discipline yourself to try something new, pick up a new hobby, pray, exercise. Take the advice of the book of Ecclesiastes chapter 8 and my dad – enjoy life while you can. Be with friends, laugh so hard your guts hurt, crank your collection of hard rock so it rattles the walls, or in the words of pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church… “Take your pants off, sit in the chair, and watch the Mariners game.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwVWGgKOX40 Corey Taylor at Oxford.

About blangl33

A sojourning son of a living Savior.
This entry was posted in Journals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

